Unpacking the Information, Media, and Technology Skills Domain of the New Learning Paradigm

Charles Kivunja


Put simply, “Teaching our students so that they become well-equipped with the 21st century skills is the new learning paradigm” (Kivunja, 2014b, p. 85). These skills fall into four domains which the Partnership for 21st Century Skills (P21) identify as the Traditional Core Skills, the Learning and Innovation Skills, the Career and Life Skills, and the Digital Literacy Skills; also known as the Information, Media, and Technology Skills (P21, 2009). Arguing that the traditional core skills, such as reading, -riting, and –rithmetic are well known, and might need no elaboration, Kivunja (2014b) discussed the Learning and Innovations Skills domain, and Kivunja (2015a) unpacked the Career and Life Skills domain. This paper unpacks the Digital Literacy Skills domain to extend an understanding of this domain in three ways. First, what is it and what skills does it involve? Second, how can students be taught the skills of this domain so they will be job ready to use these skills on graduation? Third, what is the significance of this domain to each of the other domains; and therefore to the success of studying, working, living and being a productive citizen in the realities of the Digital Economy?

Full Text:


DOI: https://doi.org/10.5430/ijhe.v4n1p166


  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c)

International Journal of Higher Education
ISSN 1927-6044 (Print) ISSN 1927-6052 (Online) Email: ijhe@sciedupress.com

Copyright © Sciedu Press

To make sure that you can receive messages from us, please add the 'Sciedupress.com' domain to your e-mail 'safe list'. If you do not receive e-mail in your 'inbox', check your 'bulk mail' or 'junk mail' folders.